Gouvernance

CRIMT receives funding as an operating centre within the framework of the Fonds de recherche du Québec – Société et culture (FRQ-SC) Strategic Clusters’ program. CRIMT brings together 47 researchers in Quebec and 133 outside the province and has – in terms of governance structures – three research and orientation committees (Management Committee, Steering Committee and Regulatory Arena Research Coordinating Committee), a series of permanent standing committees, a general assembly and several participatory forums. 

As part of our Partnership Project funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC), these bodies interact with an Executive Committee, as well as a Partner board composed of CRIMT researchers in Quebec, in Canada and outside of Canada. 

Management Committee

CRIMT’s day-to-day administration is the responsibility of a Management Committee made up of the Centre’s Director, Co-Directors and research professionals. This committee is also responsible for the day-to-day management of the CRIMT Partnership Project and for making recommendations to the Partner board and the Executive Committee.
 
The Management Committee is composed of: Gregor Murray (Director of CRIMT, Université de Montréal), Christian Lévesque (Co-Director of CRIMT, HEC Montréal), Soledad Cardona (Administrative Coordinator, Université de Montréal), Audrey B. Fortier (Communications Officer, Université de Montréal), Francine Jacques (Project Coordinator, Université Laval) and Nicolas Roby (Scientific Coordinator, Université de Montréal).

Steering Committee

CRIMT also benefits from the guidance of a Steering Committee, which contributes – in accordance with the Centre’s objectives – to the development of scientific projects and activities. It fosters the development of a diversified leadership that is representative of CRIMT’s constituent units in Quebec. The Steering Committee is made up of the members of the Management Committee, one or more representatives of CRIMT’s founding institutions in Quebec, and one representative of the other universities in which the Centre has members in Quebec, namely McGill University, UQAM, UQO, UQTR, TÉLUQ and Université de Sherbrooke. In addition to the members of the Management Committee (above), the Steering Committee is composed of: François Bolduc (Université Laval), Dalia Gesualdi-Fecteau (Université du Québec à Montréal), Mélanie Laroche (Université de Montréal) and Lucie Morissette (HEC Montréal).

Regulatory Arena Research Coordinating Committee

The Steering Committee is supported by a Coordinating Committee, which oversees the development of projects within the 5 research axis (regulation arenas) of the CRIMT Partnership Project. Each axis has at least two co-leaders in Quebec and two co-leaders outside Quebec, some of them experienced, others at the beginning of their career. Together, they form a bilingual, multidisciplinary and gender-balanced inter-university body that fosters the exchange of points of view and expertise, the development of international research networks and the free circulation of ideas.

Standing Committees

Members of the Management, Steering and Regulatory Arena Research Coordinating Committee benefit from the support of permanent standing committees in charge of specific mandates – which they carry out in interaction with the governance structure of the CRIMT Partnership Project.

International Scientific Committee

The International Scientific Committee is composed of experts who are independent of CRIMT’s governance structure. Its mandate is to advise the Centre on its strategic plan, the achievement of its research objectives and the development of its Partnership Project. Gerhard Bosch, retired professor at the Universität Duisburg-Essen, currently chairs this Committee.     

Stakeholder Committee

The Stakeholder Committee is made up of representatives of parties who contribute or call upon CRIMT’s research. Its specific mandate is to make recommendations to CRIMT’s governance structure regarding the transfer and mobilization of knowledge and research results. The Committee is currently chaired by Roger Lecourt, former Deputy Minister of Labour of the Government of Quebec and consultant to the International Labour Office.     

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

The mandate of this CRIMT Committee is to advise CRIMT’s governance structure and its Partnership Project on all aspects related to the implementation and application of measures to increase equity, diversity and inclusion in the Centre’s research activities and daily life. Charlotte Yates, President of the University of Guelph, currently chairs this Committee.

Covid-19 Working Committee

The Covid-19 pandemic is shaking up the world of work, whether it be the adoption of health measures at the point of production, the reorganization of work and the booming of teleworking, the upheaval of supply chains and the highlighting of inequalities, revealed by the essential nature of many historically devalued jobs, more often than not, done by racialized and vulnerable individuals. In addition to integrating this issue as a fault line likely to stimulate experimentation in the world of work, we felt it was important to create a space within CRIMT to discuss these issues. 

The creation of a committee on the effects of the Covid-19 pandemic is intended to allow researchers, as well as partner centres, to pool their research initiatives and plan activities likely to advance our understanding of this phenomenon. 

Graduate Student Consortium Coordinating Committee

The Graduate Student Consortium Coordinating Committee acts as a liaison between the governance structure and the student members, and is also responsible for the organization of at least two activities per annual cycle: one Doctoral Day and one Doctoral School. Since the Covid-19 pandemic forced the redeployment of these online activities, the committee has also been leading a series of methodological workshops on the CRIMT Teams platform since the spring of 2020. Its current members are : Cassandra Bowkett (HEC Montréal), Evelyn Dionne (Université Laval), Alyssa Hannon (Rutgers University) and Daniel Nicholson (Cardiff University).

Student Program Funding Committee

Within the framework of the CRIMT Partnership Project, the Student Program Funding Committee is responsible for the design of funding programs, as well as the awarding of scholarship and mobility funds to the Centre’s students. Independent from other governance structures, it meets twice a year under the chairmanship of the Scientific Coordinator. Its current members are Nicolas Roby (Université de Montréal), Pier-Luc Bilodeau (Université Laval), Catherine Le Capitaine (Université Laval), Mathieu Dupuis (TÉLUQ), Sean O’Brady (McMaster University), Vincent Pasquier (HEC Montréal) and Evelyn Dionne (Université Laval) as representatives of the Graduate Student Consortium Coordinating Committee.

Institutional Experimentation Methodology Committee

The Institutional Experimentation Methodology Committee looks into the comparative aspects and the parameters for the elaboration of cases of experimentation. The members of the Steering Committee, as well as of the Regulatory Arena Research Coordinating Committee, contribute, on an ad hoc basis, to the work of this committee.

Knowledge Transfer and Dissemination Committee

The mandate of the Knowledge Transfer and Dissemination Committee is threefold: first, to advise CRIMT’s governance structure on the creation of the Virtual Observatory on Institutional Experimentation, which will become the public face for cases of experimentation produced as part of the Partnership Project; second, to provide suggestions – in conjunction with the Stakeholder Committee – on how to engage stakeholders and the public; third, to organize open forums that can reach both labour market stakeholders and a broader public. The members of the Steering Committee, as well as of the Regulatory Arena Research Coordinating Committee, contribute, on an ad hoc basis, to the work of this committee.

General Assembly

CRIMT has a General Assembly made up of the 47 co-researchers who are CRIMT members in Quebec (as a Strategic Cluster funded by the Fonds de recherche du Québec – Société et culture).

Participative Forums

CRIMT has four types of participative forums. First, there are working groups and committees responsible to develop the case template, organize scientific activities or publish volumes and thematic issues of journals. Second, open forums are held, such as international symposiums and seminars. Thirdly, a doctoral consortium, which meets twice a year on the occasion of the Doctoral School and Doctoral Days. Lastly, public forums, known as ‘Outreach activities’, which bring together academics and stakeholders from the world of work.

Gouvernance

Le CRIMT reçoit un financement à titre de Centre en fonctionnement dans le cadre du programme des Regroupements stratégiques du Fonds de recherche du Québec – Société et culture (FRQ-SC). Le CRIMT regroupe 47 chercheur.euse.s au Québec et 133 hors des frontières de la province et compte – sur le plan des structures de gouvernance – trois comités de suivi et d’orientation de la recherche (Comité de gestion, Comité de pilotage et Comité de coordination des axes), une série de sous-comités permanents, une assemblée générale et plusieurs forums participatifs. 

Dans le cadre du Projet de partenariat financé par le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH), ces instances agissent en interaction avec un Comité exécutif, de même qu’un Conseil des partenaires composés de chercheur.euse.s du CRIMT au Québec et de l’extérieur du Québec. 

Comité de gestion

L’administration quotidienne du CRIMT relève d’un Comité de gestion formé du directeur, des co-directeur.trice.s et des professionnel.le.s de recherche du Centre. Celui-ci est également chargé de la gestion au jour le jour du Projet de partenariat du CRIMT, puis de faire des recommandations auprès du Conseil des partenaires et du Comité exécutif.

Le Comité de gestion est composé de: Gregor Murray (Directeur du CRIMT, Université de Montréal), Christian Lévesque (Co-directeur du CRIMT, HEC Montréal), Soledad Cardona (Coordonnatrice administrative, Université de Montréal), Audrey B. Fortier (Agente de communication, Université de Montréal), Francine Jacques (Coordonnatrice de projets, Université Laval) et Nicolas Roby (Coordonnateur scientifique, Université de Montréal).

Comité de pilotage

Le CRIMT bénéficie également de l’orientation d’un Comité de pilotage, lequel contribue – en accord avec les objectifs du Centre – au développement des projets et des activités scientifiques. Il favorise le développement d’un leadership diversifié et représentatif des unités constitutives du CRIMT au Québec. Le Comité de pilotage est constitué des membres du Comité de gestion, d’un.e ou de plusieurs représentant.e.s des établissements fondateurs du CRIMT au Québec, et d’un.e représentant.e des autres universités dans lesquelles le centre compte des membres au Québec, soit l’Université McGill, l’UQAM, l’UQO, l’UQTR, la TÉLUQ et l’Université de Sherbrooke. Outre les membres du Comité de gestion (ci-dessus), le Comité de pilotage est composé de: François Bolduc (Université Laval), Dalia Gesualdi-Fecteau (Université du Québec à Montréal), Mélanie Laroche (Université de Montréal) et Vincent Pasquier (HEC Montréal).

Comité de coordination des axes de recherche

Le Comité de pilotage reçoit le soutien d’un Comité de coordination, lequel veille au développement des projets au sein des 5 axes de recherche (arènes de régulation) que compte le Projet de partenariat du CRIMT. Chaque axe compte au moins deux coresponsables au Québec et deux coresponsables hors Québec, certain.e.s chevronné.e.s, d’autres en début de carrière. Ensemble, ils/elles forment une instance interuniversitaire bilingue, multidisciplinaire et paritaire sur le plan du genre qui favorise le maillage des points de vue et d’expertise, le développement de réseaux de recherche internationaux et la libre circulation des idées.   

Sous-comités permanents

Les membres des comités de gestion, de pilotage et de coordination des axes de recherche du CRIMT profitent de l’appui de sous-comités permanents chargés de mandats spécifiques – qu’ils réalisent en interaction avec la structure de gouvernance du Projet de partenariat du CRIMT.    

Comité consultatif scientifique international

Le Comité consultatif scientifique international est composé d’expert.e.s indépendant.e.s de la structure de gouvernance du CRIMT. Il a pour mandat de conseiller le Centre sur le plan stratégique, la réalisation de ses objectifs de recherche et le développement de son Projet de partenariat. Le Comité est actuellement présidé par Gerhard Bosch, professeur retraité de l’Universität Duisburg-Essen.     

Comité consultatif des partenaires du marché du travail

Le Comité consultatif des partenaires du marché du travail regroupe des représentant.e.s des parties prenantes qui contribuent ou font appel aux recherches menées au CRIMT dans le cadre de son Projet de partenariat. Il a pour mandat spécifique de formuler des recommandations auprès de la structure de gouvernance du CRIMT concernant le transfert et de la mobilisation des connaissances et des résultats de la recherche. Le Comité est actuellement présidé par Roger Lecourt, ancien sous-ministre du travail du Gouvernement du Québec et consultant auprès du Bureau international du Travail.     

Comité équité, diversité et inclusion

Le Comité équité, diversité et inclusion du CRIMT a pour mandat de conseiller la structure de gouvernance du CRIMT et de son Projet de partenariat sur tout aspect touchant la mise en place et l’application de mesures visant à augmenter l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion dans les activités de recherche et la vie du centre. Le Comité est actuellement présidé par Charlotte Yates, rectrice de l’Université Guelph.

Comité sur les effets de la pandémie de Covid-19

La pandémie de Covid-19 bouleverse le monde du travail, qu’il s’agisse de l’adoption de mesures sanitaires au point de production, de la réorganisation du travail et de l’essor du télétravail, du chambardement des chaînes d’approvisionnement et de la mise en exergue des inégalités, révélées par le caractère essentiel de nombreux emplois historiquement dévalués et dont les titulaires sont souvent racisées et en situation de vulnérabilité. Outre l’intégration de cette problématique comme ligne de fracture susceptible de stimuler des expérimentations dans le monde du travail, il nous semblait important de créer un espace au sein du CRIMT afin de discuter de ces enjeux. 

La création d’un Comité sur les effets de la pandémie de Covid-19 vise justement à permettre aux chercheur.euse.s membres, de même qu’aux centres partenaires, de mettre en commun leurs initiatives de recherche et de planifier des activités susceptibles de faire avancer notre compréhension de ce phénomène. 

Comité de coordination des étudiant.e.s aux cycles supérieurs

Le Comité de coordination des étudiant.e.s aux cycles supérieurs assure la liaison entre la structure de gouvernance et les étudiant.e.s membres, de même que l’organisation d’au moins deux activités de formation par année, soit une Journée et une École doctorales. La pandémie de Covid-19 ayant forcé le redéploiement de ces activités en ligne, le comité anime également, depuis le printemps 2020, une série d’ateliers méthodologiques sur la plateforme Teams du CRIMT. Ses membres actuel.le.s sont : Cassandra Bowkett (HEC Montréal), Evelyn Dionne (Université Laval), Alyssa Hannon (Rutgers University) et Daniel Nicholson (Cardiff University).

Comité de financement étudiant

Le Comité de financement étudiant s’occupe – dans le cadre du Projet de partenariat du CRIMT – de la conception des programmes de financement, ainsi que de l’adjudication des fonds de bourses d’études et de mobilité aux étudiant.e.s membre du centre. Indépendant des autres structures de gouvernance, il tient ses assises deux fois l’an sous la présidence du coordonnateur scientifique. Ses membres actuels sont : Nicolas Roby (Université de Montréal), Pier-Luc Bilodeau (Université Laval), Catherine Le Capitaine (Université Laval), Mathieu Dupuis (TÉLUQ), Sean O’Brady (McMaster University), Vincent Pasquier (HEC Montréal) et Evelyn Dionne (Université Laval) à titre de représentante du Comité de coordination des étudiant.e.s aux cycles supérieurs. 

Comité méthodologique pour l’analyse et la rédaction des cas

Le Comité méthodologique pour l’analyse et la rédaction des cas se penche sur les paramètres de construction des cas d’expérimentation, ainsi que sur le volet comparatif. Les membres du Comité de pilotage, de même que du Comité de coordination des axes de recherche contribuent, de façon ad hoc, aux travaux de ce comité.

Comité de transfert et de diffusion des connaissances

Le mandat du Comité de transfert et de diffusion des connaissances est triple : premièrement, conseiller la structure de gouvernance du CRIMT au sujet de la création de l’Observatoire virtuel sur l’expérimentation institutionnelle, lequel deviendra la vitrine publique des cas d’expérimentation produits dans le cadre du Projet de partenariat ; deuxièmement, prodiguer des conseils – en lien avec le Comité consultatif des partenaires du marché du travail – sur les moyens à prendre afin d’engager les parties prenantes et le public ; troisièmement, organiser des forums susceptibles de toucher à la fois les acteurs du marché du travail et un public plus large. Les membres du Comité de pilotage, de même que du Comité de coordination des axes de recherche contribuent, de façon ad hoc, aux travaux de ce comité.

Assemblée générale

Le CRIMT compte une Assemblée générale formée des 47 cochercheur.euse.s membres du CRIMT au Québec (à titre de Regroupement stratégique financé par le Fonds de recherche du Québec – Société et culture).

Forums participatifs

Le CRIMT compte quatre types de forums participatifs : premièrement, des groupes de travail, notamment pour le développement du modèle de présentation des cas, l’organisation d’activités d’animation scientifique ou l’édition de volumes et de numéros thématiques de revues; deuxièmement, des forums ouverts, comme les colloques ou les séminaires internationaux; troisièmement, un Consortium des étudiants des cycles supérieurs, lequel se réunit deux fois l’an à l’occasion de la Journée et de l’École doctorales; quatrièmement, des forum publics, dits ‘Savoirs partagées’, qui mettent en lien des universitaires et des acteurs du monde du travail.