Conferences

2-5 July 2021

2021 SASE Conference
Virtual Conference

Network K: Institutional Experimentation in the Regulation of Work and Employment

Since 2018, CRIMT holds an annual conference (Network K conference) within the framework of the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics (SASE). Network K aims to foster exchanges on organizational and institutional experimentation and its power to improve (or deteriorate) work.


26-28 May 2021

58th Annual Conference of the Canadian Industrial Relations Association (CIRA)

Better Work I & II: Understanding What Makes Work Better or Worse. CRIMT and its partnership project on institutional experimentation for better work CIRA workshops

CRIMT, in collaboration with the Canadian Industrial Relations Association (CIRA), held two roundtables entitled Work: For Better or for Worse at the Association’s 2021 Conference.

Bringing together ten members of the CRIMT Partnership Project, these roundtables provided an opportunity to discuss how to think about better and worse work. Each panel featured the ideas of four researchers who drew on their research findings to address the issue.

The panelists answered a series of questions from a common grid covering three constituent dimensions of work: risk, whether economic, health or social; control or autonomy, i.e. the ability to exercise control over one’s work and its limits in relation to other aspects of one’s life outside of work; and expressiveness, i.e. the dimensions that relate to voice, as well as to the possibility of achieving one’s potential at work.

Roundtable 1 [with simultaneous interpretation]

Moderator : Mélanie Laroche (Université de Montréal)

Philippe Barré (Université de Montréal)
Le travail des artistes professionnel.le.s au Québec
Louise Boivin (Université du Québec en Outaouais)
Le travail du ‘care’ rémunéré dans le secteur privé au Québec
Urwana Coiquaud (HEC Montréal)
Le travail sur plateformes numériques au Québec : le cas de UBER
Dalia Gesualdi-Fecteau (UQAM)
Le travail des ouvrier.è.s sylvicoles au Québec

Roundtable 2

Moderator : Gregor Murray (Université de Montréal)

Mat Johnson (University of Manchester)
Valeria Pulignano (KU Leuven)
Jim Stanford (Centre for Future Work)
Olga Tregaskis (University of East Anglia)

For those who did not have the opportunity to attend the CIRA conference, or for those who attended and would like to see it again, we are pleased to make the full recording of both sessions available on our YouTube channel.

We also invite you to visit the multimedia section of this site to see more recordings of events.


18-21 July 2020

2020 SASE Conference
Virtual Conference

Network K: Institutional Experimentation in the Regulation of Work and Employment

Since 2018, CRIMT holds an annual conference (Network K conference) within the framework of the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics (SASE). Network K aims to foster exchanges on organizational and institutional experimentation and its power to improve (or deteriorate) work.


24-27 June 2020

ILERA 10th Regional Congress for the Americas
Virtual Conference

Special Colloquium : CRIMT Partnership Project on Institutional Experimentation for Better (or Worse) Work

Organized jointly by the Canadian Industrial Relations Association (CIRA), Ryerson University Ted Rogers School of Management and ILERA, in association with numerous partners, including CRIMT, ILERA’s 10th Congress for the Americas aimed to provide a space for the study of work and employment from a global, multidisciplinary perspective, firmly rooted in the reality of workplaces and open to the diversity of ideas, interests and points of view as well as to critical thinking.

CRIMT held a special colloquium (6 workshops) mobilising the work of several coresearchers and student members of its Partnership Project on Institutional Experimentation for Better (or Worse) Work.


13-16 June 2020

LERA 72nd Annual Meeting
Virtual Conference

CRIMT Symposium: Institutional Experimentation for Better (or Worse) Work

The annual meeting of the Labor and Employment Relations Association (LERA) aims to provide an open forum for labour researchers and practitioners to meet and discuss the latest issues affecting the world of work and employment. CRIMT held a symposium entitled Institutional Experimentation at Work: For Better or Worse in the context of the 2020 meeting.


27-29 June 2019

2019 SASE Conference
The New School – New York City, USA

Network K: Institutional Experimentation in the Regulation of Work and Employment

Since 2018, CRIMT holds an annual conference (Network K conference) within the framework of the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics (SASE). Network K aims to foster exchanges on organizational and institutional experimentation and its power to improve (or deteriorate) work. At the 2019 conference, Network K hosted 16 workshops on the theme of organisation and institutional experimentation.


5-7 June 2019

56th CIRA Congress
UBC Sauder School of Business

Special Colloquium : Institutional Experimentation for Better Work

The 56th Congress of the Canadian Industrial Relations Association (CIRA) aimed to share studies on work and employment from a holistic, multidisciplinary perspective, firmly rooted in the reality of workplaces and open to a diversity of ideas, interests and points of view as well as critical thinking.

CRIMT held a special colloquium (4 workshops) mobilising the work of several coresearchers and student members of its Partnership Project on Institutional Experimentation for Better (or Worse) Work.


12-14 February 2019

33rd AIRAANZ Annual Congress
RMIT University

Special Colloquium : Experimentation for better work

The theme of the 33rd Congress of the Association of Industrial Relations Academics of Australia and New Zealand (Global Work, Quality Work?) invited researchers and practitioners in the world of work to examine the dilemmas arising from growing disparities in the quality of jobs, particularly in the context of the rapidly changing landscape of global capitalism, labour regulation, labour migration and movements.

CRIMT held a special colloquium (3 workshops) mobilising the work of several coresearchers and student members of its Partnership Project on Institutional Experimentation for Better (or Worse) Work.


23-25 June 2018

2018 SASE Conference
Doshisha University, Kyoto, Japan

Network K: Institutional Experimentation in the Regulation of Work and Employment

Since 2018, CRIMT holds an annual conference (Network K conference) within the framework of the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics (SASE). Network K aims to foster exchanges on organizational and institutional experimentation and its power to improve (or deteriorate) work. At the 2018 Conference, Network K hosted 11 workshops on the theme of experimentation within the framework of the 2018 conference.


25-27 October 2018

CRIMT International Conference
HEC Montréal, Canada

What Kind of Work for the Future? Perturbations, expérimentations et re-régulation

This conference offered original contributions from academics and practitioners on two related themes: changes that disrupt the world of work and lead to the re-regulation of work and employment, and the forms of organisational and institutional experimentation that underpin or accompany these processes of change and re-regulation. Bringing together four panels of international specialists, more than 250 researchers from 21 countries in some 40 thematic workshops, followed by a one-day Community Forum, this conference brought together some of the world’s leading experts on work and employment.


29 June – 1 July 2017

2017 SASE Conference
Université de Lyon, Lyon, France

SASE Mini-Conference: Disruption and Experimentation in the Regulation of Work and Employment

CRIMT’s mini-conferences at SASE (2015-2017) helped refine CRIMT’s research programme on organisational and institutional experimentation for better (or worse) work. The Lyon mini-conference included 11 workshops on the theme of experimentation.

Colloques

2-5 juillet 2021

2021 SASE Conference
Colloque virtuel

Network K: Institutional Experimentation in the Regulation of Work and Employment

Depuis 2018, le CRIMT tient un colloque annuel (assises du Réseau K) dans le cadre de la Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics (SASE). Le Réseau K vise à favoriser les échanges sur l’expérimentation organisationnelle et institutionnelle et son pouvoir d’amélioration (ou de détérioration) du travail.


26-28 mai 2021

58e Congrès annuel de l’Association canadienne des relations industrielles (ACRI)
Colloque virtuel

Better Work I & II : comprendre ce qui rend le travail meilleur ou pire. Ateliers du CRIMT et de son projet de partenariat sur l’expérimentation institutionnelle et l’amélioration du travail.

Le CRIMT a tenu, en collaboration avec l’Association canadienne des relations industrielles (ACRI), deux tables rondes intitulés le travail : pour le meilleur ou pour le pire dans le cadre du Congrès 2021 de l’Association.

Réunissant dix membres du Projet de partenariat du CRIMT, ces tables rondes ont permis d’échanger sur la façon de penser le travail de bonne ou de piètre qualité. Chaque panel a fait appel aux idées de quatre chercheur.euse.s qui se sont inspirés de leurs résultats de recherches pour aborder la question.

Les panélistes ont répondu à une série de questions provenant d’une grille commune touchant trois dimensions constitutives du travail : le risque, qu’il soit économique, sanitaire ou social ; le contrôle ou l’autonomie, c’est-à-dire la capacité d’exercer un contrôle sur son travail et sur ses limites par rapport à d’autres aspects de sa vie externe au travail ; l’expressivité, soit les dimensions qui ont trait à la prise de parole, de même qu’à la possibilité de réaliser son potentiel au travail.

Table 1

Animation : Mélanie Laroche (Université de Montréal)

Philippe Barré (Université de Montréal)
Le travail des artistes professionnel.le.s au Québec
Louise Boivin (Université du Québec en Outaouais)
Le travail du ‘care’ rémunéré dans le secteur privé au Québec
Urwana Coiquaud (HEC Montréal)
Le travail sur plateformes numériques au Québec : le cas de UBER
Dalia Gesualdi-Fecteau (UQAM)
Le travail des ouvrier.è.s sylvicoles au Québec

Table 2 [tenue en anglais]

Animation : Gregor Murray (Université de Montréal)

Mat Johnson (University of Manchester)
Valeria Pulignano (KU Leuven)
Jim Stanford (Centre for Future Work)
Olga Tregaskis (University of East Anglia)

Pour ceux et celles qui n’ont pas eu l’occasion de participer au congrès de l’ACRI, ou pour ceux et celles qui y ont participé et qui souhaitent le revoir, nous avons le plaisir de mettre à disposition l’enregistrement complet des deux sessions sur notre chaîne YouTube.

Nous vous invitons également à consulter l’onglet multimédia de ce site pour voir d’autres enregistrements d’événements.


18-21 juillet 2020

2020 SASE Conference
Colloque virtuel

Network K: Institutional Experimentation in the Regulation of Work and Employment

Depuis 2018, le CRIMT tient un colloque annuel (assises du Réseau K) dans le cadre de la Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics (SASE). Le Réseau K vise à favoriser les échanges sur l’expérimentation organisationnelle et institutionnelle et son pouvoir d’amélioration (ou de détérioration) du travail.


24-27 juin 2020

ILERA 10th Regional Congress for the Americas
Colloque virtuel

Colloque spécial : CRIMT Partnership Project on Institutional Experimentation for Better (or Worse) Work

Organisé conjointement par l’Association canadienne des relations industrielles (ACRI), la Ryerson University Ted Rogers School of Management et ILERA, en association avec de nombreux partenaires, dont le CRIMT, le 10e Congrès des Amériques de ILERA visait à offrir un espace favorisant l’étude du travail et l’emploi dans une perspective globale, multidisciplinaire, solidement ancrée dans la réalité des milieux de travail et ouverte à la diversité des idées, des intérêts et des points de vue de même qu’à la pensée critique.

Le CRIMT y a tenu un colloque spécial (6 ateliers) mobilisant les travaux de plusieurs chercheur.eur.s et doctorants.e.s membres de son Projet de partenariat sur l’expérimentation institutionnelle et l’amélioration (ou la détérioration) du travail.


13-16 juin 2020

LERA 72nd Annual Meeting
Colloque virtuel

Symposium du CRIMT: Institutional Experimentation for Better (or Worse) Work

La rencontre annuelle de la Labor and Employment Relations Association (LERA) vise à permettre aux chercheur.euse.s et praticiens du monde du travail de se réunir dans le cadre d’un forum pour discuter des derniers enjeux qui touchent la sphère du travail et de l’emploi. En 2020, le CRIMT y a tenu un symposium intitulé l’expérimentation institutionnelle au travail: pour le meilleur et pour le pire.


27-29 juin 2019

2019 SASE Conference
The New School – New York City, USA

Network K: Institutional Experimentation in the Regulation of Work and Employment

Depuis 2018, le CRIMT tient un colloque annuel (assises du Réseau K) dans le cadre de la Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics (SASE). Le Réseau K vise à favoriser les échanges sur l’expérimentation organisationnelle et institutionnelle et son pouvoir d’amélioration (ou de détérioration) du travail. Le Réseau K a été l’hôte – dans le cadre du colloque 2019 – de 16 ateliers sur le thème de l’expérimentation.


5-7 juin 2019

56e Congrès de l’ACRI
UBC Sauder School of Business

Colloque spécial : L’expérimentation institutionnelle pour un travail meilleur

Le 56e Congrès de l’Association canadienne des relations industrielles (ACRI) visait le partage d’études sur le travail et l’emploi dans une perspective globale, multidisciplinaire, solidement ancrée dans la réalité des milieux de travail et ouverte à la diversité des idées, des intérêts et des points de vue de même qu’à la pensée critique.

Le CRIMT y a tenu un colloque spécial (4 ateliers) mobilisant les travaux de plusieurs chercheur.eur.s et doctorants.e.s membres de son Projet de partenariat sur l’expérimentation institutionnelle et l’amélioration (ou la détérioration) du travail.


12-14 février 2019

33e Congrès annuel de AIRAANZ
RMIT University

Colloque spécial : Experimentation for better work

Le thème du 33e Congrès de l’Association of Industrial Relations Academics of Australia and New Zealand (Travail global, travail de qualité ?) invitait les chercheur.euse.s et les praticiens du monde du travail à examiner les dilemmes découlant des disparités croissantes dans la qualité des emplois, en particulier dans le contexte de l’évolution rapide du paysage du capitalisme mondial, de la réglementation du travail, des migrations de main-d’œuvre et des mouvements de main-d’œuvre.

Le CRIMT y a tenu un colloque spécial (3 ateliers) mobilisant les travaux de plusieurs chercheur.eur.s et doctorants.e.s membres de son Projet de partenariat sur l’expérimentation institutionnelle et l’amélioration (ou la détérioration) du travail.


23-25 juin 2018

2018 SASE Conference
Doshisha University, Kyoto, Japon

Network K: Institutional Experimentation in the Regulation of Work and Employment

Depuis 2018, le CRIMT tient un colloque annuel (assises du Réseau K) dans le cadre de la Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics (SASE). Le Réseau K vise à favoriser les échanges sur l’expérimentation organisationnelle et institutionnelle et son pouvoir d’amélioration (ou de détérioration) du travail. Le Réseau K a été l’hôte – dans le cadre du colloque 2018 – de 11 ateliers sur le thème de l’expérimentation.


25-27 octobre 2018

Colloque international du CRIMT
HEC Montréal, Canada

Quel type de travail pour le futur ? Perturbations, expérimentations et rerégulation

Ce colloque a offert des contributions originales d’universitaires et de praticien.ne.s sur deux thèmes liés : les changements qui perturbent le monde du travail et qui entraînent une rerégulation du travail et de l’emploi et les formes d’expérimentation organisationnelle et institutionnelle qui sous-tendent ou accompagnent ces processus de changement et de rerégulation. Réunissant quatre panels de spécialistes internationaux, plus de 250 chercheur.euse.s de 21 pays dans une quarantaine d’ateliers thématiques, puis un Forum communautaire d’une journée, ce colloque a regroupé certain.e.s des plus grands spécialistes internationaux sur le travail et l’emploi.


16-18 août 2018

EDI 2018 MONTRÉAL
Université de Montréal, Montréal

Égalité, diversité et inclusion en 2018: Progrès, replis ou nouveaux défis?

Organisée conjointement par la Chaire BMO en diversité et gouvernance, la Chaire en relations éthiques de l’Université de Montréal et le CRIMT, avec la collaboration du Centre d’études ethniques des universités montréalaises, l’École de relations industrielles de l’Université de Montréal et le CÉRIUM, l’édition 2018 du colloque de l’EDI a accueilli un large éventail de contributions relatives aux liens entre l’égalité, la diversité et l’inclusion sous divers angles théoriques et méthodologiques ainsi que dans des perspectives aussi bien disciplinaires, qu’interdisciplinaires, internationales et comparatives.

En particulier, le colloque a mis en lumière que malgré les efforts soutenus de recherche ainsi que les expérimentations organisationnelles et institutionnelles visant à promouvoir la diversité et l’inclusion, les inégalités persistent. Il a également permis d’explorer diverses pistes de solution.


29 juin – 1er juillet 2017

2017 SASE Conference
Université de Lyon, Lyon, France

SASE Mini-Conference: Disruption and Experimentation in the Regulation of Work and Employment

Les mini-colloques du CRIMT à SASE (2015-2017) ont permis d’affiner le programme de recherche du CRIMT sur l’expérimentation organisationnelle et institutionnelle et son pouvoir d’amélioration (ou de détérioration) du travail. Le mini-colloque de Lyon comptait 11 ateliers sur le thème de l’expérimentation.