Training Activities

24 March 2021

Karel Musilek (Cardiff Business School)

Workshop on virtual platform

Working Lives Beyond Balance and Encroachment: Form of work/life in coliving

Sociological discussion of working and economic lives has tended to focus on questions of work/life balance and encroachment of work into non-work life. While this research provides useful insights, it has insufficiently reflected the transformation to practices and socio-material arrangements of working lives. Yet, it is within these practices and arrangements where the important extensive demands and intensification of work are accommodated and reproduced.

To start rectifying this lacuna, the author draws on and extend the notion of ‘forms of life’ as a lens through which to conceptualize working lives, how they are shaped and what social practices and arrangements sustain them. He explores this issue through a unique ethnographic study of coliving – a new way of living and novel site of sociological investigation – which seeks to modify domestic and personal lives in lines with demands of extensive and intensive work and ideals of professional and entrepreneurial success.


6 November 2020

Valeria Pulignano (KU Leuven)

Work and Equalities Institute – Tackling contemporary research challenges in uncertain times Postgraduate Researchers’ Virtual Seminar Series

Re-framing your research

Every research project evolves and changes, as new challenges and new questions present themselves, the current pandemic is one such situation. In this online session, students heard from Professor Valeria Pulignano, KU Leuven and CRIMT coresearcher, about her experiences reshaping research projects throughout her career and how she has tackled constraints of researching within the current context in her role as the principal investigator for ResPeTMe a major Horizon 2020 project. This session will also provided an opportunity for PGRs to share some of their concerns and talk through practical solutions on how to re-think their projects within the current context.


17 September 2020

Kate Farhall (CPOW-RMIT), Phela Townsend (SMLR-Rutgers University)

PhD Workshop on virtual platform

Critical Race Theory and Intersectionality in IR

Focusing on CRT (Critical Race Theory) and intersectionality, this workshop was organized by Kate Farhall (CPOW-RMIT) and Phela Townsend (SMLR-Rutgers University). The workshop had four objectives: (1) to share the work and objectives of CRIMT’s CRT/Intersectionality group with the broader student network; (2) to reflect as a group on recent events in the United States and around the world, including the Black Lives Matter movement, and to consider their impact on each of us as individuals and as social scientists; (3) to provide an overview of the journeys and challenges facing students who work or plan to work with CRT in their research will face; and (4) brainstorm and gather feedback on how the CRIMT CRT/Intersectionality group can equip and support students and affiliated researchers who work with CRT and intersectionality and seek to integrate them into their work.


8 August 2020

Peter Morgan (University of Cardiff)

PhD Workshop on virtual platform

Introduction to the ‘R’ programming language

As part of this workshop, Professor Peter Morgan of Cardiff University offered an introductory course on the statistical language “R” to CRIMT student members. Topics covered included loading datasets into R, navigating using some basic commands to summarize and plot data, performing basic statistical procedures, and downloading and installing specialized extensions that add functionality to the platform.


28 May 2020

Adam J. Fowler (Director of research, Beacon Economics, Grand Los Angeles Area), Sylvain Schetagne (Director, Research and Sociopolitical Action and Resident Wellness, Quebec Federation of Resident Physicians), Philippe Scrimger (Research Advisor, Employment and Social Development Canada)

PhD Workshop on virtual platform

Considering Careers Outside of Academia

In our field, doctoral and post-doctoral students often tend to see only one career path: that of academic researcher. The objective of this activity was to introduce students to other career options in the fields of labour and employment, labour law, management and industrial relations. Many former students are now working in a variety of positions in various organizations (unions, government agencies, ministries, research institutes, etc.), and it was important to hear the views of those who have successfully pursued other career paths. Moreover, given the unique challenges posed by the Covid-19 pandemic, we thought it would be appropriate to highlight the work of colleagues who are placing their research skills at the service of politics, government and public health.


22 May 2020

Sabrina Ruta (Senior Manager and Team Leader, Canada Revenue Agency), Martine Poulin (Director, Prevention of OHS problems and rehabilitation, Institut de recherche Robert-Sauvé en santé et sécurité du travail), Carol-Anne Gauthier (CEGEP Champlain St. Lawrence/ Université Laval)

PhD Workshop on virtual platform (held in French)

Faire carrière en dehors du milieu universitaire

In our field, doctoral and post-doctoral students often tend to see only one career path: that of academic researcher. The objective of this activity was to introduce students to other career options in the fields of labour and employment, labour law, management and industrial relations. Many former students are now working in a variety of positions in various organizations (unions, government agencies, ministries, research institutes, etc.), and it was important to hear the views of those who have successfully pursued other career paths. Moreover, given the unique challenges posed by the Covid-19 pandemic, we thought it would be appropriate to highlight the work of colleagues who are placing their research skills at the service of politics, government and public health.


24 October 2019

Maite Tapia (Michigan State University), Olivier Jégou (UCLouvain), Isabelle Hudon (Université Laval), Matthew Fischer-Daly (Cornell University), Sari Madi (Université de Montréal)

CRIMT Doctoral School 2019

Hôtel Chéribourg, Magog

Institutional Experimentation for Better Work

Held once a year, CRIMT’s Doctoral School offers a unique exchange forum to its student members. During a one-day workshop, students address a series of theoretical and methodological issues related to their studies and, more broadly, to the doctoral program.

The program for the 2019 edition of the Doctoral School included a “speed dating” session to get to know each other better, a workshop on the case presentation template, where students were invited to share their thoughts on the template and discuss how to improve it, followed by a session on the concept of intersectionality and its usefulness in industrial relations research.


8 May 2019

Francine Jacques (Université Laval), Sean O’Brady (McMaster University), Nicolas Roby (Université de Montréal), Émilie Lessard-Mercier (Université Laval), Phela Townsend (Rutgers University), Kate Farhall (RMIT), Jeff Lane (Rutgers University), Tamara Lee (Rutgers University), Sheba Tejani (The New School)

CRIMT Doctoral Day 2019

Université de Montréal, Montreal

Institutional Experimentation for Better Work

Held once a year, CRIMT’s Doctoral Day offers a unique exchange forum to its student members. During a one-day workshop, students address a series of theoretical and methodological issues related to their studies and, more broadly, to the doctoral program.

The program for the 2019 edition of the Doctoral Day included a session on what constitutes a good scholarship or grant application, a workshop on strengthening CRIMT’s doctoral student community and a session with Jeff Lane (Rutgers University), Tamara Lee (SMLR-Rutgers University) and Sheba Tejani (The New School) on the concept of intersectionality and its usefulness in industrial relations research.


13 November 2018

Amanda Coles (Deakin University), Émilie Genin (Université de Montréal)

Graduate Research Methods Policy Analysis Workshop

Université de Montréal, Canada

Experimenting for Equality: What’s the Problem Represented to Be? Or WPR approach

As a graduate training and professional development opportunity tied to the Experimenting For Equality: An International Policy Summit on Gender Equality in Global Screen Industries, CRIMT researchers Amanda Coles (Deakin University) and Emilie Genin (Université de Montréal) offered a one-day policy analysis workshop for graduate students. The interactive, student-facing research workshop covered the theoretical foundations of Bacchi’s ‘What’s the problem represented to be?’ (WPR) conceptual framework and methodological approaches for WPR policy analysis. It involved a generalised review of policy objects and agents, as well as systematic approaches to analysing policy discourses. Students worked with examples from the summit pre-briefing documents as the foundational training materials. The workshop also involved student-led discussions about how this approach could be of use in their own current or future research projects across a range of research areas, and how WPR complements and/or challenges other policy research paradigms.


24 October 2018

Adelheid Hege (Institut de Recherches Économiques et Sociales), Christian Dufour (CRIMT), Amanda Coles (Deakin University), Urwana Coiquaud (HEC Montréal), Chloé Fortin-Bergeron (UQTR), Johanna Weststar (University of Western), Charlotte Yates (University of Guelph), Nicolas Roby (CRIMT – Université de Montréal)

CRIMT Doctoral School 2018

Hôtel Manoir-des-Sables, Magog

Institutional Experimentation for Better Work

Held once a year, CRIMT’s Doctoral School offers a unique exchange forum to its student members. During a one-day workshop, students address a series of theoretical and methodological issues related to their studies and, more broadly, to the doctoral program.

The program for the School’s 2018 Edition included a session on qualitative research interviews, a workshop on hiring processes in academia, a session on using CRIMT’s research partnership technology platform, and a call to action on intersectionality and its potential in research. 


15 May 2018

Julie Garneau (Université Laval), Laurence Derouin-Dubuc (Université de Montréal), Isabelle Hudon (Université Laval), Lucie Morissette (HEC Montréal), François Bolduc (Université Laval), Sara Perez-Lauzon (HEC Montréal), Sébastien Parent (Université de Montréal), Sari Madi (Université de Montréal), Sondes Turki (Université de Montréal), Dalia Gesualdi-Fecteau (UQAM), Julien Gobeil-Proulx (Université Laval)

CRIMT Doctoral Day 2018

Université de Montréal, Montreal

Institutional Experimentation for Better Work

Held once a year, CRIMT’s Doctoral Day offers a unique exchange forum to its student members. During a one-day workshop, students address a series of theoretical and methodological issues related to their studies and, more broadly, to the doctoral program.

The program for the 2018 edition of the Doctoral day included a session on CRIMT’s new research partnership platform, two case presentation workshops and a session on how to give punch to conference presentations with Julien Gobeil-Proulx, Pedagogy and Technopedagogy Advisor, Centre de services en TI et en pédagogie (CSTIP), Université Laval.


26 October 2017

Isabelle Ferreras (TED-CriDIS – UCLouvain), Valeria Pulignano (UK Leuven), Louise Boivin (UQO), Amanda Coles (Deakin University), Kate Farhall (CPOW – RMIT), Georgina Murray (WOW – Griffith University), David Peetz (WOW – Griffith University), Blandine Émilien (UQAM), Nicolas Roby (CRIMT – Université de Montréal)

CRIMT Doctoral School 2017

Hôtel Manoir-des-Sables, Magog

Institutional Experimentation for Better Work

Held once a year, CRIMT’s Doctoral School offers a unique exchange forum to its student members. During a one-day workshop, students address a series of theoretical and methodological issues related to their studies and, more broadly, to the doctoral program.

The program for the School’s 2017 Edition included a session on the notion of experimentation and its usefulness as an interpretative framework, a workshop on improving work with respect to gender gaps: parameters for gender mainstreaming in studies on institutional experimentation and its potential for better work, and a session on a particular institutional experimentation scenario: Governing capitalism through economic bicameralism.


23 May 2017

Nicolas Roby (Université de Montréal), Julie Garneau (Université Laval), Laurence Derouin-Dubuc (Université de Montréal), Mouhamadou Sanni Yaya (HEC Montréal), Lucie Morissette (HEC Montréal), Raoul Gebert (CRIMT), Marie Van den Broeck (HEC Montréal), Sondes Turki (Université de Montréal), Yves Blanchet (Université de Montréal), Sean O’Brady (McMaster University), Catherine Le Capitaine (Université de Montréal), Blandine Émilien (HEC Montréal), Mathieu Dupuis (TÉLUQ), Xiaoming Bao (Université de Montréal), Marie-Pier Bernard (Université Laval), Salima Kamoun (Université Laval), Charles Tremblay-Potvin (Université Laval), François Bolduc (Université Laval), Gilles Trudeau (Université de Montréal), Phil Almond (Leicester University), Martine D’Amours (Université Laval), Renée-Claude Drouin (Université de Montréal)

CRIMT Doctoral Day 2017

HEC Montréal, Montreal

Institutional Experimentation for Better Work

On the occasion of this Doctoral Day, students funded by CRIMT’s Dissemination Fund were invited to rehearse their presentation in front of their fellow doctoral students. A sort of ‘mock session’ (simulation sessions) that English-speaking students are fond of (but which we are not really used to organizing in Quebec), this activity allowed students to test their ideas and refine their presentation (in light of their colleagues’ constructive suggestions); on the Centre’s side, this Day allowed us to reinforce team spirit, as well as to leverage the effect of our student funding programs. The presentations were grouped into three thematic sessions: changes in the forms of economic organizations and labor regulatory institutions: sectoral and territorial perspectives; the agility of actors with regard to institutional embedding: the case of globalized managers, mutual training and social risk management and union life, representation and democratic governance.

The Day concluded with a session on the publication of scientific articles (for many, the logical continuation of their participation in a conference or congress). We asked a number of fellow professors who are journal editors (Phil Almond, Associate Editor of the International Journal of Human Resource Management, Martine D’Amours, Editor of Relations Industrielles / Industrial Relations and Renée-Claude Drouin, former member of the Quebec Editorial Board of the Canadian Labour & Employment Law Journal) to lead this session, under the chairmanship of Gilles Trudeau (Université de Montréal).

Activités de formation

24 mars 2021

Karel Musilek (Cardiff Business School)

Atelier sur plateforme virtuelle

Working Lives Beyond Balance and Encroachment: Form of work/life in coliving

Dans cette présentation, l’auteur plaide pour un renouvellement des discussions sociologiques sur la vie professionnelle et économique. La recherche dans ce domaine a eu tendance à se concentrer sur les questions d’équilibre entre vie professionnelle et vie privée et sur l’empiétement du travail sur la vie non professionnelle. Bien que ces recherches soient éclairantes, elles ne reflètent pas toujours la transformation des pratiques et des arrangements sociomatériels de la vie professionnelle.

Notamment, l’auteur suggère que c’est dans ces pratiques et arrangements que l’extensification et l’intensification du travail sont prises en compte et reproduites. Pour commencer à combler cette lacune, l’auteur s’appuie sur la notion de « formes de vie » et l’élargit pour conceptualiser la vie professionnelle, la façon dont elle est façonnée ainsi que les pratiques et les dispositions sociales qui la soutiennent. Il explore cette question à travers une étude ethnographique du ‘coliving’ – un nouveau mode de vie et un nouveau site d’investigation sociologique – qui cherche à modifier la vie domestique et personnelle en fonction des exigences d’un travail omniprésent et intensif et des idéaux de réussite professionnelle et entrepreneuriale.


6 novembre 2020

Valeria Pulignano (KU Leuven)

Work and Equalities Institute – Tackling contemporary research challenges in uncertain times Postgraduate Researchers’ Virtual Seminar Series

Re-framing your research

Chaque projet de recherche évolue et change, à mesure que de nouveaux défis et de nouvelles questions se présentent. La pandémie actuelle constitue l’une de ces situations. Au cours de cet atelier virtuel, Valeria Pulignano, professeure à la KU Leuven et cochercheuse au CRIMT, a fait part de son expérience dans la refonte des projets de recherche. S’appuyant sur l’exemple du ResPeTMe, un projet majeur d’Horizon 2020 dont elle est la chercheuse principale, la professeure Pulignano a partagé la manière avec laquelle elle a abordé les contraintes posées à la recherche en contexte de pandémie. L’atelier a également fournit l’occasion aux étudiant.e.s de partager certaines de leurs préoccupations et de parler de solutions pratiques quant à la manière de repenser leurs projets dans la situation actuelle.


17 septembre 2020

Kate Farhall (CPOW-RMIT), Phela Townsend (SMLR-Rutgers University)

Atelier doctoral sur plateforme virtuelle

Critical Race Theory and Intersectionality in IR

Portant sur la CRT (Critical Race Theory) et l‘intersectionnalité, cet atelier a été organisé par Kate Farhall (CPOW-RMIT) et Phela Townsend (SMLR-Rutgers University). Celui-ci poursuivait quatre objectifs : (1) partager le travail et les objectifs du groupe CRT/Intersectionnalité du CRIMT avec le réseau élargi des étudiant.e.s ; (2) réfléchir en groupe aux événements récents survenus aux États-Unis et dans le monde, y compris dans le sillon du mouvement Black Lives Matter, et de considérer leurs impacts sur chacun en tant que personnes et chercheur.euse.s en sciences sociales ; (3) donner un aperçu des parcours et des défis auxquels les étudiant.e.s au doctorat qui travaillent ou prévoient travailler avec la CRT dans le cadre de leurs recherches seront confrontés ; et (4) faire un remue-méninges collectif et recueillir des commentaires sur la façon dont le groupe CRT/Intersectionnalité du CRIMT peut équiper et soutenir les étudiant.e.s et les chercheur.euse.s affilié.e.s qui travaillent avec la CRT et l’intersectionnalité et cherchent à les intégrer à leurs travaux.


8 août 2020

Peter Morgan (University of Cardiff)

Atelier doctoral sur plateforme virtuelle

Introduction to the ‘R’ programming language

Dans le cadre de cet atelier, le professeur Peter Morgan de la Cardiff University a offert un cours d’introduction au langage statistique « R » aux étudiant.e.s membres du CRIMT. Il a notamment été question du chargement d’ensembles de données dans R, de la navigation au moyen de certaines commandes de base permettant de résumer et d’illustrer des données, de l’exécution de procédures statistiques de base et du téléchargement et de l’installation d’extensions spécialisées ajoutant des fonctionnalités à la plateforme.


28 mai 2020

Adam J. Fowler (Directeur de la recherche, Beacon Economics, région du Grand Los Angeles), Sylvain Schetagne (Directeur, Recherche et action sociopolitique et bien-être des résidents, Fédération des médecins résidents du Québec), Philippe Scrimger (Conseiller en recherche, Emploi et Développement social Canada)

Atelier doctoral sur plateforme virtuelle

Considering Careers Outside of Academia

Dans notre domaine, les doctorants et les postdoctorants ont souvent tendance à ne voir qu’un seul cheminement de carrière : celui de chercheur universitaire. L’objectif de cette activité était de faire découvrir aux étudiant.e.s d’autres options de carrière dans les domaines du travail et de l’emploi, du droit du travail, de la gestion et des relations industrielles. Plusieurs ancien.e.s étudiant.e.s occupent aujourd’hui une variété de postes de fonction dans diverses organisations (syndicats, agences gouvernementales, ministères, instituts de recherche, etc.), et il nous semblait important d’entendre le point de vue de ceux et celles qui ont suivi, avec succès, d’autres parcours. Qui plus est, étant donné les défis uniques que pose la pandémie de Covid-19, nous avons pensé qu’il serait à propos de mettre en lumière le travail de collègues qui placent leurs compétences en matière de recherche au service du monde politique, du gouvernement et de la santé publique.


22 mai 2020

Sabrina Ruta (Gestionnaire et chef d’équipe, Agence du revenu du Canada), Martine Poulin (Directrice, Prévention des problèmes de SST et réadaptation, Institut de recherche Robert-Sauvé en santé et sécurité du travail), Carol-Anne Gauthier (CEGEP Champlain St. Lawrence/ Université Laval)

Atelier doctoral sur plateforme virtuelle

Faire carrière en dehors du milieu universitaire

Dans notre domaine, les doctorants et les postdoctorants ont souvent tendance à ne voir qu’un seul cheminement de carrière : celui de chercheur universitaire. L’objectif de cette activité était de faire découvrir aux étudiant.e.s d’autres options de carrière dans les domaines du travail et de l’emploi, du droit du travail, de la gestion et des relations industrielles. Plusieurs ancien.e.s étudiant.e.s occupent aujourd’hui une variété de postes dans diverses organisations (syndicats, agences gouvernementales, ministères, instituts de recherche, etc.), et il nous semblait important d’entendre le point de vue de ceux et celles qui ont suivi, avec succès, d’autres parcours. Qui plus est, étant donné les défis uniques que pose la pandémie de Covid-19, nous avons pensé qu’il serait à propos de mettre en lumière le travail de collègues qui placent leurs compétences en matière de recherche au service du monde politique, du gouvernement et de la santé publique.


24 octobre 2019

Maite Tapia (Michigan State University), Olivier Jégou (UCLouvain), Isabelle Hudon (Université Laval), Matthew Fischer-Daly (Cornell University), Sari Madi (Université de Montréal)

École doctorale du CRIMT 2019

Hôtel Chéribourg, Magog

L’expérimentation institutionnelle et l’amélioration du travail

Tenue une fois l’an, l’École doctorale du CRIMT offre un forum d’échange unique aux étudiant.e.s membres. Durant une journée de travaux, ces dernier.ère.s abordent une série d’enjeux théoriques et méthodologiques liés à leurs études et, plus largement, au parcours doctoral.

Le programme de l’Édition 2019 de l’École doctorale comportait une séance de « Speed dating » pour apprendre à mieux se connaître, un atelier sur le modèle de présentation des cas d’expérimentation, où les étudiants étaient invités à faire part de leur réflexion sur le gabarit et discuter de la manière de le bonifier, puis une séance sur le concept d’intersectionnalité et son utilité dans les recherches en relations industrielles.


8 mai 2019

Francine Jacques (Université Laval), Sean O’Brady (McMaster University), Nicolas Roby (Université de Montréal), Émilie Lessard-Mercier (Université Laval), Phela Townsend (Rutgers University), Kate Farhall (RMIT), Jeff Lane (Rutgers University), Tamara Lee (Rutgers University), Sheba Tejani (The New School)

Journée doctorale du CRIMT 2019

Université de Montréal, Montréal

L’expérimentation institutionnelle et l’amélioration du travail

Tenue une fois l’an, la journée doctorale du CRIMT offre un forum d’échange unique aux étudiant.e.s membres. Durant une journée de travaux, ces dernier.ère.s abordent une série d’enjeux théoriques et méthodologiques liés à leurs études et, plus largement, au parcours doctoral.

Le programme de l’Édition 2019 de la journée doctorale comportait une séance sur ce qui constitue un bon dossier de demande de bourses ou des subventions, un atelier sur le renforcement de la communauté des doctorants du CRIMT et une séance sur le concept d’intersectionnalité et son utilité dans les recherches en relations industrielles avec Jeff Lane (Rutgers University), Tamara Lee (SMLR-Rutgers University) et Sheba Tejani (The New School).


13 novembre 2018

Amanda Coles (Deakin University), Émilie Genin (Université de Montréal)

Atelier méthodologique sur l’analyse des politiques

Université de Montréal, Canada

Experimenting for Equality: What’s the Problem Represented to Be? Or WPR approach

En lien avec le sommet international Expérimenter pour l’égalité. Les inégalités de genre dans l’industrie mondiale de la production sur écran, Amanda Coles (Deakin University) et Émilie Genin (Université de Montréal), toutes deux cochercheuses au CRIMT, ont offert un atelier d’une journée portant sur l’analyse des politiques aux étudiant.e.s des cycles supérieurs du CRIMT. L’atelier de recherche interactif portait sur les fondements théoriques de l’ouvrage de Bacchi intitulé What’s the problem represented to be? (WPR). L’atelier a permis d’opérer un examen systématique des objets et des agents politiques, ainsi que des approches de l’analyse des discours politiques, puis de voir comment cette approche pouvait être utile dans leurs propres projets de recherche.


24 octobre 2018

Adelheid Hege (Institut de Recherches Économiques et Sociales), Christian Dufour (CRIMT), Amanda Coles (Deakin University), Urwana Coiquaud (HEC Montréal), Chloé Fortin-Bergeron (UQTR), Johanna Weststar (University of Western), Charlotte Yates (University of Guelph), Nicolas Roby (CRIMT – Université de Montréal)

École doctorale du CRIMT 2018

Hôtel Manoir-des-Sables, Magog

L’expérimentation institutionnelle et l’amélioration du travail

Tenue une fois l’an, l’École doctorale du CRIMT offre un forum d’échange unique aux étudiant.e.s membres. Durant une journée de travaux, ces dernier.ère.s abordent une série d’enjeux théoriques et méthodologiques liés à leurs études et, plus largement, au parcours doctoral.

Le programme de l’Édition 2018 de l’École comportait une séance sur les entretiens en recherche qualitative, un atelier sur les processus d’embauche dans le milieu universitaire, une séance sur utilisation de la plateforme technologique du partenariat de recherche du CRIMT, puis un appel à l’action sur l’intersectionnalité et son potentiel en recherche. 


15 mai 2018

Julie Garneau (Université Laval), Laurence Derouin-Dubuc (Université de Montréal), Isabelle Hudon (Université Laval), Lucie Morissette (HEC Montréal), François Bolduc (Université Laval), Sara Perez-Lauzon (HEC Montréal), Sébastien Parent (Université de Montréal), Sari Madi (Université de Montréal), Sondes Turki (Université de Montréal), Dalia Gesualdi-Fecteau (UQAM), Julien Gobeil-Proulx (Université Laval)

Journée doctorale du CRIMT 2018

Université de Montréal, Montréal

L’expérimentation institutionnelle et l’amélioration du travail

Tenue une fois l’an, la Journée doctorale du CRIMT offre un forum d’échange unique aux étudiant.e.s membres. Durant une journée de travaux, ces dernier.ère.s abordent une série d’enjeux théoriques et méthodologiques liés à leurs études et, plus largement, au parcours doctoral.

Le programme de l’Édition 2018 de la journée doctorale comportait une séance sur la nouvelle plateforme du partenariat de recherche du CRIMT, deux ateliers de présentations de cas et une séance sur comment donner du relief aux présentations en colloque avec Julien Gobeil-Proulx, Conseiller en pédagogie et technopédagogie, Centre de services en TI et en pédagogie (CSTIP), Université Laval.


26 octobre 2017

Isabelle Ferreras (TED-CriDIS – UCLouvain), Valeria Pulignano (UK Leuven), Louise Boivin (UQO), Amanda Coles (Deakin University), Kate Farhall (CPOW – RMIT), Georgina Murray (WOW – Griffith University), David Peetz (WOW – Griffith University), Blandine Émilien (UQAM), Nicolas Roby (CRIMT – Université de Montréal)

École doctorale du CRIMT 2017

Hôtel Manoir-des-Sables, Magog

L’expérimentation institutionnelle et l’amélioration du travail

Tenue une fois l’an, l’École doctorale du CRIMT offre un forum d’échange unique aux étudiant.e.s membres. Durant une journée de travaux, ces dernier.ère.s abordent une série d’enjeux théoriques et méthodologiques liés à leurs études et, plus largement, au parcours doctoral.

Le programme de l’Édition 2017 de l’École comportait une séance sur la notion d’expérimentation et son utilité comme cadre interprétatif, un atelier sur l’amélioration du travail eu égard aux écarts entre les sexes : paramètres pour une intégration transversale du genre dans les études sur l’expérimentation institutionnelle et son potentiel d’amélioration du travail, puis une séance sur un scénario d’expérimentation institutionnelle : gouverner le capitalisme en instaurant le bicaméralisme économique.


23 mai 2017

Nicolas Roby (Université de Montréal), Julie Garneau (Université Laval), Laurence Derouin-Dubuc (Université de Montréal), Mouhamadou Sanni Yaya (HEC Montréal), Lucie Morissette (HEC Montréal), Raoul Gebert (CRIMT), Marie Van den Broeck (HEC Montréal), Sondes Turki (Université de Montréal), Yves Blanchet (Université de Montréal), Sean O’Brady (McMaster University), Catherine Le Capitaine (Université de Montréal), Blandine Émilien (HEC Montréal), Mathieu Dupuis (TÉLUQ), Xiaoming Bao (Université de Montréal), Marie-Pier Bernard (Université Laval), Salima Kamoun (Université Laval), Charles Tremblay-Potvin (Université Laval), François Bolduc (Université Laval), Gilles Trudeau (Université de Montréal), Phil Almond (Leicester University), Martine D’Amours (Université Laval), Renée-Claude Drouin (Université de Montréal)

Journée doctorale du CRIMT 2017

HEC Montréal, Montréal

L’expérimentation institutionnelle et l’amélioration du travail

À l’occasion de cette Journée doctorale, les étudiantes et les étudiants financés par le Fonds de diffusion du CRIMT étaient conviés à venir répéter leur présentation devant leurs collègues doctorant.e.s. Sorte de ‘séances de simulation’ dont sont friands les Anglo-saxons (mais que nous n’avons pas vraiment l’habitude d’organiser au Québec), cette activité a permis aux étudiant.e.s de tester leurs idées et de peaufiner leur présentation (au regard des suggestions constructives de leurs collègues) ; de côté du Centre, cette Journée nous a permis de renforcer l’esprit d’équipe, de même que l’effet de levier de nos programmes de financement étudiant. Les présentations étaient regroupées en trois séances thématiques : les mutations des formes d’organisations économiques et des institutions de régulation du travail : regards sectoriels et territoriaux ; l’agentivité des acteurs au regard de l’encastrement institutionnel : le cas des gestionnaires mondialisés, des mutuelles de formation et de la gestion des risques sociaux ; la vie syndicale, la représentation et la gouvernance démocratique.

La Journée s’est conclue sur une séance portant sur la publication d’articles scientifiques (pour plusieurs, la suite logique de leur participation en colloque ou congrès). Nous avons demandé à quelques collègues professeur.e.s, lesquels occupent la position d’éditeur.trice de revue (Phil Almond, éditeur associé de l’International Journal of Human Resource Management, Martine D’Amours, éditrice de Relations Industrielles / Industrial Relations et Renée-Claude Drouin, ex-membre du Comité de rédaction pour le Québec du Canadian Labour & Employment Law Journal) d’animer cette séance, sous la présidence de Gilles Trudeau (Université de Montréal).