The CRIMT Named Studentships

CRIMT awards four annual scholarships in honour or in memory of great figures in the field of industrial relations and labour law in Quebec and Canada: Shirley Goldenberg, Roger Lecourt, Jacques Bélanger and Pierre Verge.

In total of all competitions held during a particular calendar year, the four students whose master’s or doctoral projects stand out the most on the themes covered by each of the scholarships (both in terms of scope and quality) will be awarded the amount of $2,500 each.

There are two ways for students to be considered for these awards:

1.

All those who have applied to the regular scholarship or mobility award competition – internship or research field component in the spring or fall of the current year (2021 A or B competition) will automatically be considered for these awards. No further action is required in this case;

2.

any candidate who has not made an application to the spring or fall competitions but who wishes to be considered for one of the named scholarships may do so by submitting to a dedicated program. This includes candidates who cannot apply to the regular scholarship or mobility competitions because they no longer meet all the eligibility requirements. Please click here to view the rules of the dedicated program

THE SHIRLEY-GOLDENBERG CRIMT SCHOLARSHIP FUND

Shirley Goldenberg was a Full professor in the Faculty of Management at McGill University. As Canada’s first female scholar of industrial relations, Shirley Goldenberg not only helped to legitimize the place of women in this traditionally male field, but has also contributed – with a profound concern for social justice and progress – to a better theoretical and practical understanding of the evolution of work and employment in Canada. This was evident in her groundbreaking work on industrial relations in the federal public sector, the role of union staffers, the unionization of professionals, and on women and the law.

The Shirley-Goldenberg CRIMT Scholarship supports full-time graduate students in Canadian universities whose masters’ or doctoral dissertations involve cutting-edge research on major trends in work and employment. More particularly, the Scholarship is aimed at students whose work focuses on major developments in the field of work and employment in Canada or abroad, with a preference for those dealing with their implications for public policy.

1. AWARD RECIPIENTS

(2018) Isabelle Hudon, PhD student, Université Laval
(2018) Laurence Derouin-Dubuc, PhD student, Université de Montréal
(2019) Émilie Lessard-Mercier, PhD student, Université Laval
(2019) Jonelle Humphrey, PhD student, Université McMaster
(2020) Ammon Lilyane Djouldé Alou, PhD student, Université Laval
(2020) Joannie Lamontagne, MA candidate, Université de Montréal

2. SUPPORT THIS INITIATIVE BY MAKING A DONATION TO THE SHIRLEY-GOLDENBERG CRIMT FUND

The “Make a donation” button leads to a PDF form that can be downloaded, printed, and then filled out by hand. Once completed, you can either scan it and send it by email to the attention of Soledad Cardona-Maldonado, CRIMT’s Administrative Coordinator, or send it by mail to the address at the bottom of the form. It is also possible to make a donation by phone by dialing 514 343-2110.

3. SEE THE DETAILS OF THE PROJECTS FUNDED TO DATE

4. TO LEARN MORE ABOUT THIS INITIATIVE


THE ROGER-LECOURT CRIMT SCHOLARSHIP FUND

Roger Lecourt is a nationally and internationally recognized specialist in industrial relations and social dialogue. He is a frequent contributor to CRIMT’s activities and chairs its Stakeholder Committee. A former Deputy Minister of Labour in Quebec and a consultant to the International Labour Office (ILO) in a number of countries, he has also been a union leader and mediator/conciliator. His work exemplifies a commitment to building a practical understanding of work, its values and its transformations.

The Roger-Lecourt CRIMT Scholarship supports full-time graduate students in Quebec universities whose masters’ or doctoral dissertations involve cutting-edge research on major trends in work and employment. More particularly, the Scholarship is aimed at students whose work deals with major developments in collective labour relations, both in Canada and abroad, with a preference for those dealing with union renewal, new forms of collective bargaining and representation, and the public policies that promote them.

1. AWARD RECIPIENTS

The first recipient of the Roger-Lecourt Scholarship will be announced in early 2022.

2. SUPPORT THIS INITIATIVE BY MAKING A DONATION TO THE ROGER-LECOURT CRIMT FUND

The “Make a donation” button leads to a PDF form that can be downloaded, printed, and then filled out by hand. Once completed, you can either scan it and send it by email to the attention of Soledad Cardona-Maldonado, CRIMT’s Administrative Coordinator, or send it by mail to the address at the bottom of the form. It is also possible to make a donation by phone by dialing 514 343-2110.


THE JACQUES-BÉLANGER AND PIERRE-VERGE CRIMT SCHOLARSHIPS

Jacques Bélanger was a Full professor in the Industrial Relations Department at Université Laval and the co-director and co-founder of CRIMT. Drawing on the finest British empiricist traditions, he developed a rigorous ethnographic approach that would guide his highly innovative research in an effort to comprehend actor strategies in the world of work, convinced as he was of the coherence of their reasoning. His contributions to the analysis of the foundations of conflict and cooperation, to the study of forms of resistance and consent on the part of employees, to the understanding of multinational firms and to the development of comparative industrial relations research have sparked a whole generation of younger scholars.

Pierre Verge was an Emeritus professor at the Faculty of Law, Université Laval, and a co-founder of CRIMT. A true humanist and a rigorous scholar, through his prodigious body of work, he helped to establish labour law within the larger field of law, while emphasizing its universality and fundamental importance. His efforts to understand the transformations of labour law, notably through his interdisciplinary work within CRIMT, highlight the multiplication of sources and norms of regulation and the re-articulations between them – always with the objective of developing a coherent legal doctrine in synch with the realities of the world of work.

The Jacques-Bélanger CRIMT Scholarship supports full-time graduate students in Quebec universities whose masters’ or doctoral dissertations involve cutting-edge research on major trends in work and employment. More particularly, the Scholarship is aimed at students whose work deals with the study of actors in multinational companies or the organization of work, with a preference for those involving an ethnographic approach or a research stay abroad.

The Pierre-Verge CRIMT Scholarship supports full-time graduate students in Quebec universities whose masters’ or doctoral dissertations involve cutting-edge research on major trends in work and employment. More particularly, the Scholarship is aimed at students whose work deals with collective autonomy, international labour law, or the articulation of sources of labour law, with a preference for those integrating work from the social and human sciences in the analysis of the legal regulation of labour.

The Jacques-Bélanger and Pierre-Verge CRIMT Scholarships support full-time graduate students in Quebec universities whose masters’ or doctoral dissertations fits within the research program of the Interuniversity Research Centre on Globalization and Work.

1. AWARD RECIPIENTS

The first recipients of the Jacques-Bélanger and Pierre-Verge Scholarships will be announced in early 2022.

2. SUPPORT THESE TWO SCHOLARSHIP INITIATIVES BY MAKING A DONATION TO THE JACQUES-BÉLANGER AND PIERRE-VERGE CRIMT SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAMS

Financial contributions will allow the attribution of two distinct scholarships, each with its own vocation. It is possible to contribute to either Université Laval or Université de Montréal.

The “Make a donation to Université Laval” button leads to a dedicated website (available in French only) on which one can make a secure online donation (by credit card). On the first “Donation Information” page (Information sur le don), the “Développement sociétal / FRE relations industrielles – Fonds de soutien CRIMT” donation selection (Votre sélection) is already made. Indicate the amount of your donation in the box provided, then choose the option of a one-time donation (Don unique) or a recurring donation (Don récurrent). On the second page, enter your credit card payment information.

It is also possible to make a donation by form (PDF from, filled on screen). Once completed, you can either send it by email to the attention of Mélanie Greffard, Director of Philanthropic Development at the Faculty of Social Sciences of Université Laval, or print it and send it by mail to the address at the bottom of the form.

The “Make a donation to Université de Montréal” button leads to a PDF form that can be downloaded, printed, and then filled out by hand. Once completed, you can either scan it and send it by email to the attention of Soledad Cardona-Maldonado, CRIMT’s Administrative Coordinator, or send it by mail to the address at the bottom of the form. It is also possible to make a donation by phone by dialing 514 343-2110.

Les Bourses nommées du CRIMT

Le CRIMT décerne annuellement quatre bourses d’excellence en l’honneur ou la mémoire de grand.e.s bâtisseur.euse.s du champ des relations industrielles et du droit du travail au Québec et au Canada : madame Shirley Goldenberg et messieurs Roger Lecourt, Jacques Bélanger et Pierre Verge.

Les quatre étudiant.e.s dont les projets de maîtrise ou de doctorat se seront le plus distingués sur les thèmes couverts par chacune des bourses se verront remettre – au total des concours tenus durant l’année civile – un montant de 2 500 $ chacun.e.

Il y a deux façons d’être considéré pour ces bourses :

1.

Tous ceux et celles qui auront déposé une demande aux concours réguliers de bourses d’études ou de mobilité – volets stages ou terrain de recherche du printemps ou de l’automne de l’année en cours (ex. aux concours 2021 A ou B) seront automatiquement considérés aux fins de ces bourses. Aucune autre démarche n’est nécessaire dans ce cas.

2.

Ceux et celles qui n’ont pas fait de demande aux concours du printemps ou de l’automne mais souhaitent être considéré.e.s pour l’une des bourses nommées peuvent le faire en soumettant une demande au programme dédié des bourses nommés du CRIMT. Cela inclut les candidat.e.s qui ne peuvent pas se présenter aux concours réguliers de bourses d’études ou de mobilité parce qu’ils ne remplissent plus toutes les conditions d’admissibilité. Veuillez cliquer ici pour consulter les règles du programme dédié.

LE FONDS DE BOURSES SHIRLEY-GOLDENBERG DU CRIMT

Shirley Goldenberg a été professeure titulaire à la Faculté de gestion de l’Université McGill. Première universitaire spécialiste des relations industrielles au Canada, Shirley Goldenberg a non seulement contribué à légitimer la place des femmes dans ce champ traditionnellement masculin, mais elle a œuvré – au travers un corpus de recherche marqué d’un profond souci de justice et de progrès social – à une meilleure compréhension théorique et pratique de l’évolution du travail et de l’emploi au Canada. Soulignons, à ce propos, ses recherches portant sur les relations industrielles dans le secteur public fédéral, le rôle des permanentes et des permanents syndicaux, la syndicalisation des professionnel.les et les femmes et le droit.

La Bourse Shirley-Goldenberg du CRIMT est destinée à des étudiantes et des étudiants inscrits à temps complet dans les cycles supérieurs des universités canadiennes dont le mémoire de maîtrise ou la thèse de doctorat s’intègre au programme de recherche du Centre de recherche interuniversitaire sur la mondialisation et le travail. La Bourse vise des projets portant sur des évolutions majeures dans le domaine du travail et de l’emploi au Canada ou à l’étranger, avec une préférence pour ceux traitant de leurs implications sur le plan des politiques publiques.    

1. RÉCIPIENDAIRES

(2018) Isabelle Hudon, Doctorante, Université Laval
(2018) Laurence Derouin-Dubuc, Doctorante, Université de Montréal
(2019) Émilie Lessard-Mercier, Doctorante, Université Laval
(2019) Jonelle Humphrey, Doctorante, Université McMaster
(2020) Ammon Lilyane Djouldé Alou, Doctorante, Université Laval
(2020) Joannie Lamontagne, Maîtrise, Université de Montréal

2. SOUTENEZ CETTE INITIATIVE EN FAISANT UN DON AU FONDS SHIRLEY-GOLDENBERG DU CRIMT

Le bouton « Faire un don » mène à un formulaire PDF pouvant être téléchargé, imprimé, puis rempli à la main. Une fois complété, vous pourrez, soit le numériser puis l’envoyer par courriel à l’attention de Soledad Cardona-Maldonado, Coordonnatrice administrative du CRIMT, soit l’acheminer par la poste à l’adresse apparaissant au bas du formulaire. Il est également possible de faire un don par téléphone en composant le 514 343-2110.

3. CONSULTEZ LE DÉTAIL DES PROJETS FINANCÉS À CE JOUR

4. POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS SUR CETTE INITIATIVE


LE FONDS DE BOURSES ROGER-LECOURT DU CRIMT

Roger Lecourt est un spécialiste des relations industrielles et du dialogue social reconnu nationalement et internationalement. Il contribue fréquemment aux activités du CRIMT et préside son Comité consultatif des partenaires du marché du travail. Ancien sous-ministre du Travail du Québec et expert-conseil du Bureau international du Travail (BIT) dans un grand nombre de pays, il a également été dirigeant syndical et médiateur/conciliateur. Son travail est l’exemple d’un engagement à construire une compréhension pratique du travail, de ses valeurs et de ses transformations.

La Bourse Roger-Lecourt du CRIMT est destinée à des étudiantes et des étudiants inscrits à temps complet dans les cycles supérieurs des universités québécoises dont le mémoire de maîtrise ou la thèse de doctorat s’intègre au programme de recherche du Centre de recherche interuniversitaire sur la mondialisation et le travail. La Bourse vise des projets portant sur des évolutions majeures dans les rapports collectifs de travail, tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger, avec une préférence pour ceux traitant du renouveau syndical, de nouvelles formes de négociation et de représentation collectives et des politiques publiques qui les favorisent.    

1. RÉCIPIENDAIRES

Le ou la premier.ière récipiendaire de la Bourse Roger-Lecourt sera annoncé.e au début de l’année 2022.

2. SOUTENEZ CETTE INITIATIVE DE BOURSE EN FAISANT UN DON AU FONDS ROGER-LECOURT DU CRIMT

Le bouton « Faire un don » mène à un formulaire PDF pouvant être téléchargé, imprimé, puis rempli à la main. Une fois complété, vous pourrez, soit le numériser puis l’envoyer par courriel à l’attention de Soledad Cardona-Maldonado, Coordonnatrice administrative du CRIMT, soit l’acheminer par la poste à l’adresse apparaissant au bas du formulaire. Il est également possible de faire un don par téléphone en composant le 514 343-2110.


LES BOURSES JACQUES-BÉLANGER ET PIERRE-VERGE DU CRIMT

Jacques Bélanger a été professeur titulaire au Département des relations industrielles de l’Université Laval et codirecteur et cofondateur du CRIMT. Dans la plus pure tradition empirique britannique, il a mis à l’épreuve une approche ethnographique rigoureuse et d’une très grande originalité afin de comprendre les stratégies des acteurs du monde du travail, convaincu qu’il était de la cohérence de leur raisonnement. Ses contributions à l’analyse, souvent comparative, des fondements du conflit et de la coopération, des formes de résistance et de consentement ouvrier et du fonctionnement des firmes multinationales continuent, à ce jour, d’inspirer des générations de jeunes chercheur.euse.s.

Pierre Verge a été professeur émérite à la Faculté de droit de l’Université Laval et cofondateur du CRIMT. Véritable humaniste, il a laissé en héritage une œuvre colossale et d’une grande rigueur, laquelle a contribué à la reconnaissance du droit du travail comme branche du droit dotée d’une certaine autonomie, tout en insistant sur sa portée universelle et fondamentale. Dans ses travaux pionniers et interdisciplinaires au sein du CRIMT, il s’est consacré à l’étude des transformations du droit, à travers, notamment, l’analyse de l’articulation de la pluralité des sources et des normes qui régissent le travail – toujours dans un effort de développer une doctrine cohérente, en phase avec les réalités du monde du travail.

La Bourse Jacques-Bélanger du CRIMT vise des projets s’intéressant à l’étude des acteurs des entreprises multinationales ou de l’organisation du travail, avec une préférence pour ceux impliquant l’approche ethnographique ou un séjour de recherche à l’étranger.

La Bourse Pierre-Verge du CRIMT vise des projets portant sur l’autonomie collective, le droit international du travail ou l’articulation des sources du droit du travail, avec une préférence pour ceux intégrant les travaux issus des sciences sociales et humaines dans l’analyse de la régulation juridique du travail.

Les Bourses Jacques-Bélanger et Pierre-Verge du CRIMT sont destinées à des étudiantes et à des étudiants inscrits à temps complet dans les cycles supérieurs des universités québécoises dont le mémoire de maîtrise ou la thèse de doctorat s’intègre au programme de recherche du Centre de recherche interuniversitaire sur la mondialisation et le travail.

1. RÉCIPIENDAIRES

Les premier.ière.s récipiendaires des Bourses Jacques-Bélanger et Pierre-Verge seront annoncé.e.s au début de l’année 2022.

2. SOUTENEZ CES DEUX INITIATIVES DE BOURSES D’ÉTUDES EN FAISANT UN DON AU PROGRAMME DE BOURSES JACQUES-BÉLANGER ET PIERRE-VERGE DU CRIMT

Les contributions financières permettront l’attribution de deux bourses distinctes, chacune ayant sa propre vocation. Il est possible, au choix, de contribuer à l’Université Laval ou à l’Université de Montréal.

Le bouton « Faire un don à l’Université Laval » mène un site sécurisé permettant de faire un don en ligne (par carte de crédit). Sur la première page « Information sur le don », la sélection du don « Développement sociétal / FRE relations industrielles – Fonds de soutien CRIMT » est déjà effectuée. Indiquez le montant de votre don dans la case prévue à cet effet, puis choisissez l’option du don unique ou d’un don récurrent. À la seconde page, indiquez vos renseignements relatifs au mode de paiement par carte de crédit.

Il est aussi possible de faire un don par formulaire (PDF dynamique, pouvant être rempli à l’écran). Une fois complété, vous pouvez soit l’envoyer par courriel à l’attention de Mélanie Greffard, Directrice du développement philanthropique à la Faculté des sciences sociales de l’Université Laval, soit l’imprimer, puis l’acheminer par la poste à l’adresse apparaissant au bas du formulaire.

Le bouton « Faire un don à l’Université de Montréal » mène à un formulaire PDF pouvant être téléchargé, imprimé, puis rempli à la main. Une fois complété, vous pourrez soit le numériser puis l’envoyer par courriel à l’attention de Soledad Cardona-Maldonado, Coordonnatrice administrative du CRIMT, soit l’acheminer par la poste à l’adresse apparaissant au bas du formulaire. Il est également possible de faire un don par téléphone en composant le 514 343-2110.