The Jacques-Bélanger CRIMT Scholarship

Jacques Bélanger was a Full professor in the Industrial Relations Department at Université Laval and the co-director and co-founder of CRIMT. Drawing on the finest British empiricist traditions, he developed a rigorous ethnographic approach that would guide his highly innovative research in an effort to comprehend actor strategies in the world of work, convinced as he was of the coherence of their reasoning. His contributions to the analysis of the foundations of conflict and cooperation, to the study of forms of resistance and consent on the part of employees, to the understanding of multinational firms and to the development of comparative industrial relations research have sparked a whole generation of younger scholars.

The Jacques-Bélanger CRIMT Scholarship support full-time graduate students in Quebec universities whose masters’ or doctoral dissertations fits within the research program of the Interuniversity Research Centre on Globalization and Work. The Scholarship is aimed at students whose work deals with the study of actors in multinational companies or the organization of work, with a preference for those involving an ethnographic approach or a research stay abroad. 

Find out how you can support this initiative. You can do so at Université Laval or Université de Montréal by making a donation to the Jacques-Bélanger and Pierre-Verge scholarship program. Your contributions will allow the attribution of two distinct scholarships (Jacques-Bélanger and Pierre-Verge), each with its own vocation.

La Bourse Jacques-Bélanger du CRIMT

Jacques Bélanger a été professeur titulaire au Département des relations industrielles de l’Université Laval et codirecteur et cofondateur du CRIMT. Dans la plus pure tradition empirique britannique, il a mis à l’épreuve une approche ethnographique rigoureuse et d’une très grande originalité afin de comprendre les stratégies des acteurs du monde du travail, convaincu qu’il était de la cohérence de leur raisonnement. Ses contributions à l’analyse, souvent comparative, des fondements du conflit et de la coopération, des formes de résistance et de consentement ouvrier et du fonctionnement des firmes multinationales continuent, à ce jour, d’inspirer des générations de jeunes chercheur.euse.s.

La Bourse Jacques-Bélanger du CRIMT est destinée à des étudiantes et des étudiants inscrits à temps complet dans les cycles supérieurs des universités québécoises dont le mémoire de maîtrise ou la thèse de doctorat s’intègre au programme de recherche du Centre de recherche interuniversitaire sur la mondialisation et le travail. La Bourse vise des projets s’intéressant à l’étude des acteurs des entreprises multinationales ou de l’organisation du travail, avec une préférence pour ceux impliquant l’approche ethnographique ou un séjour de recherche à l’étranger.  

Voyez comment vous pouvez, vous aussi, soutenir cette initiative. Il est possible de le faire à l’Université Laval ou l’Université de Montréal, en faisant un don au programme de bourses Jacques-Bélanger et Pierre-Verge. Vos contributions permettront l’attribution de deux bourses distinctes (Jacques-Bélanger et Pierre-Verge), chacune avec sa propre vocation.